Friday, February 05, 2010

Canon 28 of Chalcedon

The following is the 28th canon of the Fourth Ecumenical Council:
Following in all things the decisions of the holy Fathers, and acknowledging the canon, which has been just read, of the One Hundred and Fifty Bishops beloved-of-God (who assembled in the imperial city of Constantinople, which is New Rome, in the time of the Emperor Theodosius of happy memory), we also do enact and decree the same things concerning the privileges of the most holy Church of Constantinople, which is New Rome. For the Fathers rightly granted privileges to the throne of old Rome, because it was the royal city. And the One Hundred and Fifty most religious Bishops, actuated by the same consideration, gave equal privileges (isa presbeia) to the most holy throne of New Rome, justly judging that the city which is honored with the Sovereignty and the Senate, and enjoys equal privileges with the old imperial Rome, should in ecclesiastical matters also be magnified as she is, and rank next after her; so that, in the Pontic, the Asian, and the Thracian dioceses, the metropolitans only and such bishops also of the Dioceses aforesaid as are among the barbarians, should be ordained by the aforesaid most holy throne of the most holy Church of Constantinople; every metropolitan of the aforesaid dioceses, together with the bishops of his province, ordaining his own provincial bishops, as has been declared by the divine canons; but that, as has been above said, the metropolitans of the aforesaid Dioceses should be ordained by the archbishop of Constantinople, after the proper elections have been held according to custom and have been reported to him.{1}
In fact, this canon, recanted by Patriarch St. Anatolius of Constantinople (July 3), was null because it was rejected by Pope St. Leo I the Great of Rome (November 10),{2} whom the 630 Holy Fathers believed to the Head of the Church who issued an infallible ex cathedra definition binding on all the faithful.{3} In the six centuries after Chalcedon, all of the Eastern Catholic Churches, and all of the Greek historians (inc. Dionysius Exiguus, John Scholasticus, and Theodore the Lector), referred to only 27 canons of the Fourth Ecumenical Council.{4}

Notes & References
{1} Medieval Sourcebook: Council of Chalcedon, 451.
{2} Bonocore, Mark J. "The Council of Chalcedon and the Papacy." The Catholic Legate. 14 May 2004. 5 Feb. 2010
{3} Ibid.
{4} Ibid.


Denny Sellen said...

The link for note #3 requires a password.

Will R. Huysman said...

Hi Denny,

This should be resolved - let me know today if you can access the link?

Thank you and Merry Christmas to you and yours!

God bless you,